+ zero.

Last week I had the absolute pleasure of chilling with designer Maria Cornejo as she prepared for her first Rocky Mountain show hosted by Colorado fashion staple, MAX.

Maria infuses her menswear line with the same chilean laid-back style and impeccable refinement of her womenswear. Above, with a male model…(swoon).

boots + heels for a nouveau gaucho goddess

a gem of a designer…a grounded woman who embodies warmth + pure taste

wearing a cardigan from FW2012 hand woven by women in a Bolivian women’s cooperative

A MOMENT WITH MARIA

We are honored to have you here, how have you been impressed by Colorado?

MC: This is my first visit to Colorado. I love. The mountains are reminiscent of my  native Chile and I can relate to the relaxed lifestyle + spirit. Yesterday I toured the impressive Clyfford Still museum and dined at Potager, where the abundance of seasonal, local ingredients and rustic decor felt like eating at home with my husband.

Tell me about your heritage, as it seems to greatly influence your style.

I was born + raised in Chile, but escaped to England as a political refugee in 1975. In the UK I was educated and received an MA in fashion textiles. In 1988 I packed my bag for Paris, where I lived for many years working under great designers and planting the seeds for my collection. In 1996 I arrived in New York (I now call Brooklyn home) and shortly thereafter opened my first store.

Your forms always maintain an architectural quality, what inspires your shapes?

Geometry speaks to me. Before I had a label, I started out seeking a new way to cut a T. Garments were so predictable at the time, so I wanted to introduce an unusual cut.

What defines Zero + Maria Cornejo?

I love the female body and design for women. My clothing is transformed by the shape of the woman who wears it, I certainly don’t have one body type that fits my line. Over 75% of the collection is made in New York. This is so rare today. Local has become a luxury and I take pride in making my clothing in the US. The remainder of my pieces are also made consciously in locales like a cooperative in Brasil.

Now for my favorite question…your morning ritual?

A kiss from my 14 year old son and a cup of lapsang souchong tea.

readers, check out the JJ SCHOLL collection of luggage for scooters + bicycles here

This entry was published on March 19, 2012 at 11:00 AM. It’s filed under fashion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “+ zero.

  1. Katie Winslow on said:

    Yet another marvelous post Jenny! Thrilled you were able to share the afternoon together in Denver + meet Maria Cornejo, we all adore her!

Leave a Reply

