subway stops.

Every time I return to New York, I am reminded that there truly is no other city quite like it. I spend countless hours getting lost in the changing neighborhoods, visiting old favorites and new gems. Though this trip was a mere 48 hours, I thought I’d share some of my favorite destinations. The majority of my shopping is done downtown. However, you would be ill-advised not to pay a visit to Bergdorf Goodman, where the window displays are a masterpiece and the elegance is unrivaled. And while you’re up there, window shopping along Madison Avenue and perhaps a stop in the RL flagship mansion are a must.  Okay moving along. The mix of designers and decor around Prince Street, Spring Street and Broome Street is a dream.  I particularly love Brazilian designer Osklen’s shop and the latest Isabel Marant location. Next I hit the boutiques tucked away in the cobblestone streets of the West Village. Some of my favorites here include…

Freemans Sporting Club for American-made tailored menswear and accessories. (there is another outpost on the Lower East Side)

Murray’s Cheese has what I consider New York’s finest selection of cheeses and everything under to the sun to pair with them. Not to mention, an insanely knowledgeable staff.

The owner of Hotoveli has a passion for finding some of the most unusual and inspiring men and women’s apparel and accessories. Some of the pieces are truly works of art, yet entirely functional. I was addicted as soon as I spotted the Ateliers Ruby helmet.

And one must eat. In this city, dining out is a disciplined ritual. Though there are a plethora of gems to explore and taste, I will only mention the restaurant I dined at with my trusty camera. Macao Trading Company serves up modernized Chinese  plates in a dimly lit space decorated with adventurous treasures to a hip Tribeca clientelle. The truffled mushroom croquettes and Malaysian scallops are not to be missed.

This entry was published on August 30, 2010 at 5:36 PM. It’s filed under fashion, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “subway stops.

  1. thanks for sharing your hidden n.y gems. i love these photos. only wish i could go there some day soon..
    what a magical city..
    xxx

  2. After reading this post, I had to suggest Pegshot, the location-based video and photo application that my team built. Check it…great post.

  3. ooh makes me wish I could visit ny soon!

  4. Phenomenal & revealing post, love your shared NYC experiences!! So glad you enjoyed yourself. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  5. All very good picks. New York is the best, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

