pink cigarette.

My Netflix queue finally provided a winner. Yes I am well aware this post is completely behind the times, but I was so enthralled by the characters, set, and wardrobe of Tom Ford’s ‘A Single Man’ that I couldn’t resist. Julianne Moore, who plays the role of Charley, is an absolute hoot. I just fell in love with this slightly over-served, eccentric beauty. I have been a fan of Ms. Moore ever since I accidentally walked into a dressing room on her in the West Village. Normally I would have been mortified by the fiasco, but instead she was an absolute doll, chatting and swapping garments with us like old chums. True story…too much information?

And those retro pink cigarettes?!  I had to find the maker of these bubble gum smoke sticks. Turns out there are quite a few…but the most attractive brands are certainly the Nat Sherman Fantasia and the Sobraine rainbow packs. (Caveat: This is not an endorsement.)

This entry was published on August 25, 2010 at 1:31 PM. It’s filed under fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “pink cigarette.

  1. Kim West on said:

    So, I LOVED this movie, and I’m so glad that you called attention to it on your blog. Brand and I adored the Firth’s house in the film as well. For anyone who hasn’t caught it yet, it’s a must-see. =)

  2. I really want to see this movie, need to move it up on my Netflix queue. Glad to hear Julianne Moore was nice, I like to think she’s sort of like her 30 Rock character haha.

  3. Completely agree!! Adore this film and the character of Charley. Reminded me a bit of Miss Havisham, so eccentric. “‘So,’ said Estella, ‘I must be taken as I have been made. The success is not mine, the failure is not mine, but the two together make me.”

  4. I loved that movie. I am not a smoker, but these are so fabulous in their own way!

  5. Omg! I do NOT smoke but if I did this is what I’d be smoking! How fucking cuuuuuuute.

    Mustart x

  6. wow.thats quite the compliment. ..i wish;) ..
    i think its the combination of the belt and white and beach youre aiming at 😉
    i want to see that movie too. it looks like a beautiful film just with the light and the colours in these images.. and those cigarettes look dangerous. dangerously cute. i would buy them to have in my apartment for decoration purposes.

    xx

  7. aww man, i’m totally gonna have to check that out!

  8. ladude on said:

    so seemingly ole-hollywood….

  9. she was so amazing in this movie. utterly perfection. i love how she got all dolled up just to have him over for dinner. i need some more of that kind of glamour in my daily life.

  10. Thank you for posting this. I’m showing “A Single Man” next month for a film club and I want to bring some candy-colored cigarettes to share. Lucky Strikes and Tanqueray gin are also on the menu!

  11. Hahah where did you find the Sobranie ciggs?? I have only seen them in Russia (and btw i found them disgusting), Nat Sherman is much more pleasant to smoke. The movie is AMAZING! I also recommend Savage Grace, with Julianne Moore as well, it’s also a beautifully shot film, which also uncovers psychological/emotional matters

Leave a Reply

